在中国实现数码转型: CEO 要发挥关键领导力

在诸多行业,各大跨国企业的中国区CEO 正在大胆推进数码战略。但在寻觅合适人才 和释放组织创新力方面,他们正面对艰巨挑 战。为了取得成功,他们必须重新审视自己 的领导方式,并找到新方法来激发整个员工 队伍的协作精神、求知欲和持续学习能力。

颠覆性的数码技术正在席卷世界,而它的风暴中心正在迅速转到中国。阿里巴巴创下了首次公开募股 (IPO)最大首日交易量的世界纪录,微信在农历新年期间实现的移动交易额要比PayPal一整年的交易总 额都大。对中国互联网企业的风险投资如今远远超过对美国互联网企业的风险投资 1。

一方面中国的大型科技企业占据了新闻头条,另一方面消费品、金融服务等许多其他行业的企业也在利 用数码技术来重新构想其业务模式、运作流程和客户体验。

这些企业正在大胆推进数码发展战略(通常是在中国区首席执行官的领导下),但他们在物色和融合数 码技术人才、实现组织和文化转型来释放速度和创新潜力方面却面临严峻挑战。对于首席执行官(CEO) 及其他高管而言,这一挑战也关乎个人:他们必须经常重新审视其在整个职业生涯中所培养的领导力策 略,并找到新方法来激发整个员工队伍的协作精神、求知欲和持续学习能力。

有鉴于这些挑战,2016年下半年亿康先达邀请了各大跨国企业的中国区CEO和其他高管人士在上海汇聚 一堂,来讨论“释放数码转型的领导潜力”这一主题。共有20多家在华开展业务的大型企业派代表参加 了此次活动。亿康先达CEO梵睿杰一起参与讨论。此次活动由亿康先达大中华区消费品行业咨询与HR 职能咨询团队领导人白雪梅主持。

1 参见普华永道研究报告“中国硅谷之龙的崛起”,2016年5月

数码转型对大多数中国CEO都是重中之重 — 但具体实施依 然任重道远

在参与此活动的企业中,数码业务显然是一个重要的战略优先事项。近70%的与会者表示,他们公司的 董事会或总部正在倡导数码业务,近半数人表示他们公司的CEO本人就是数码工作的主要倡导者(图1)。 企业更有可能认为自己是在领导颠覆性数码技术、而不是受到威胁,并表示他们正在驾驭数码技术来 塑造新的业务模式和更好的客户体验。

领导力

谁是您所在组织中数码转型的主要倡导者?

图1
图1

资料来源:亿康先达对中国区CEO及高管人士的调研,2016年11月

与会的各大企业领袖一致认为,数码技术绝不是昙花一现的流行趋势,而是将推动企业组织的巨大变 革。亿康先达CEO梵睿杰总结道:

“数码技术不只是发起一项新业务或构建一个新业务模式。这是一切工作的彻底转型,会影响到组织的 每个角落。 数码技术是关于你怎样触及市场、怎样回应客户、怎样提供更多的个性化定制产品、怎样将 它与后台和供应链职能相整合,所以这是迥然不同的思路。”

不过,与会者承认,如果他们公司要将这种新思路融入所在组织中,并将大胆战略愿景变为现实,依然 任重而道远。大多数人表示,他们公司目前正介于传统企业和数码企业之间,许多人指出,他们公司的 数码业务组织模式仍在开发之中(图2)。

组织/文化

在数码转型方面,您觉得当前企业文化怎样?

图2
图2

资料来源:亿康先达对中国区CEO及高管人士的调研,2016年11月

数码人才供不应求,因此企业应注重考察人才潜力

作为数码转型工作的核心内容,各大企业正在积极从外部招募数码人才,同时努力在组织内部培养数码 人才。但正如与会者在讨论中所指出的,在外部招募和内部培养之间求得适当平衡是一大挑战。大多数 与会企业表示,从纯科技型企业进行外部招聘是他们的主要数码人才来源,而只有3 2 % 的与会企业表 示他们期望在内部发展数码人才(图3)。

人才

贵司的数码人才来自何方?

图3
图3

资料来源:亿康先达对中国区CEO及高管人士的调研,2016年11月

但有几位发言者强调,挽留和融合来自纯科技型企业的人才颇为困难,因此过度依赖外部招募也有风 险。与会高管坦言,他们融合与挽留外部人才的工作颇为费力,认为这是与数码人才相关的最大问题。

梵睿杰指出,市场对纯科技型企业的人才有着巨大需求,在这两类人才中有90%的人始终在积极寻 找下一份工作。他表示,这使得企业必须倍加努力来与数码人才进行沟通 — 包括树立一种协作式决策 文化、给予数码人才更大自主性、更多资源、以及更多接触全球及中国区高管并获得关注的机会。

同样重要的是,评估数码人才的企业应当不止考察候选人的经验,而且要更注重了解候选人的潜力 — 因为他们希望物色那些能在未开垦的处女地取得成功的人才。具体而言,企业应当寻觅那些展现了较高 求知欲和洞察力的候选人— 这是反映领导潜力的两个重要指标 2。如果企业更加注重潜力,则可创造挖 掘内部人才来领导数码业务的新机会。凭借合适的发展手段,目前在非数码领域负责运营管理的人才可 以发展为非常成功的数码业务领袖。

2 参见亿康先达研究报告“打赢中国数码人才大战”,2016

数码转型应当自上而下推进:中国CEO将发挥关键作用

一位与会者在活动中所分享的趣闻强调了CEO及高管层在数码转型中所应发挥的关键作用,同时许多人 在拥抱新思维之前仍有很长一段路要走。在小组讨论中,有成员举例说,他们公司数码战略团队曾有一 份重要的宣讲文件,它是以电子形式分发给各位高管的。但其中一些人却要求提供纸质文件,这与该公 司拥抱数码渠道的努力是自相矛盾的。

由于认识到领导者需要重新审视自己的心态,一些企业正在创造一种“浸入式体验”,让高管人员直 接接触到数码技术先锋的做法。例如,一家中国跨国企业将30名最优秀的高管人员送到硅谷, 与Facebook、谷歌、优步等美国科技企业的同行进行座谈交流,让他们更贴近全球数码转型的前沿。 同样,一家跨国企业的中国区CEO邀请其全球CEO和高管团队来华参观中国的纯科技型企业,如腾讯 和阿里巴巴。

作为数码业务倡导者,中国CEO要充分调动整个组织( 包括全球和各地区利害关系方、以及中国区一线 团队)来参与数码转型。CEO和其他高管的一个核心任务是在企业中大力树立、并身先士卒倡导一种反 应更快、更具创新性、不那么强调森严等级的文化。他们可以鼓励内部创业、实现组织架构扁平化、更 充分利用数码渠道来进行内部沟通、并大力倡导培训员工树立更强数码观念的项目。

中国CEO及其他高管还要与各利害关系方充分沟通,帮助其团队为持续变化和应对大量模糊性因素作好 准备。例如,对于当前组织中怎样为数码业务设立合适的归属部门仍然存在很多争议:是设立集中管理的职能、设立单独业务、还是将其作为现有职能(如营销)的一部分(图4)。企业领导人必须随时准 备迅速实行组织变革,随着数码转型的演化,要准备好重新审视这些变革,同时保持团队的充分参与并 让团队了解最新进展。

最后但同样重要的是,中国CEO在培养成功数码转型所需人才方面也应发挥关键作用。他/她应当扮演 组织中数码人才的守护者角色,投入时间精力来亲自培养和激励这类人才,并在必要时保护他们免受 传统流程或守旧思维的约束。

组织/文化

贵司的数码业务采取怎样的组织形式?

图4
图4

资料来源:亿康先达对中国区CEO及高管人士的调研,2016年11月

数码转型的潮流是不可阻挡的。这一潮流正在为当今企业创造令人兴奋的机遇,让他们得以重塑业务模 式、客户体验和内部流程,并由此释放巨大价值。然而,只有当企业能够物色到并充分调动能推动创新 水平更上一层楼的数码人才,这些努力才能取得成功。这需要中国CEO充分发挥其个人领导力 — 倡导 注重高速和协作的文化、培养和保护数码人才、并身先士卒来创立和发扬新的思维方式。

联系我们

  • 搜寻顾问
    选择办事处
    • Shanghai
    • Hong Kong
    • Beijing
    选择细分服务
    • 高管寻访
    • 董事会咨询
    • 领导力战略服务
    • CEO继任
    • 家族企业咨询
    • 加速融合
    • 金融服务业
    • 科技与传讯业
    • 生命科学与医疗保健业
    • 消费品行业
    • 工业
    • 服务业
    • 私募股权投资业
    • 政府部门与社会组织
    • 财务高管
    • 人力资源高管
    • 信息技术高管
    • 法律专才
    • 首席营销官
  • 职业机会

Digital Transformation in China: Time for CEOs to Lead

Xuemei Bennink-Bai

Xuemei Bennink-Bai Egon Zehnder, Shanghai

Jenny Chen

Jenny Chen Egon Zehnder, Shanghai

Rajeev Vasudeva

Rajeev Vasudeva Egon Zehnder, London, New Delhi

Across industries, China CEOs are driving bold digital strategies. But they face tough challenges in finding the right talent and unlocking innovation in their organizations. To succeed, they must reexamine their leadership approaches and find new ways to inspire collaboration, curiosity, and constant learning across their workforces.

Digital disruption is sweeping the world, and its center of gravity is fast shifting to China. Alibaba holds the world record for the largest opening-day IPO, and WeChat achieved more mobile transactions over Chinese New Year than PayPal did in an entire year. Venture capital investment in China-based internet businesses now outstrips that in the United States by a significant margin.1

While China’s big technology players have grabbed the headlines, companies in many other industries – from consumer goods to financial services – are harnessing digital to reimagine their business models, processes, and customer experience.

These companies are driving bold digital strategies, typically led by the China CEO, but they face tough challenges in finding and integrating digital talent and transforming their organizations and culture to unlock speed and innovation. For the CEO and other senior executives, the challenge is personal: they must often re-examine leadership approaches developed over a lifetime, and find new ways to inspire collaboration, curiosity, and constant learning across their workforces.

These challenges prompted Egon Zehnder to invite China CEOs and other senior leaders to convene in Shanghai in late 2016 to debate the topic of “unlocking leadership potential for digital transformation”. More than 20 major companies operating in China were represented at the event. They were joined by Rajeev Vasudeva, the CEO of Egon Zehnder. The event was chaired by Xuemei Bennink-Bai, leader of Egon Zehnder’s Consumer and Human Resources Practices in Greater China.

1 See “The rise of China’s silicon dragon”, PwC, May 2016​

Digital is a top priority for most China CEOs – but implementation is a work in progress

Among companies represented at the event, digital is clearly a major strategic priority. Nearly 70% of participants said their board or headquarters was sponsoring digital, and nearly half said their CEO was the primary champion of their digital efforts (Exhibit 1). Companies were much more likely to see themselves as leading the digital disruption than being threatened by it – and reported that they were harnessing digital to shape new business models and better customer experience.

Leadership

Who is the primary champion of digital in your organisation?

Exhibit 1
Exhibit 1

Source: Egon Zehnder survey of China CEOs and executives, November 2016

The leaders at our event agreed strongly that digital is no fad, and that it will drive dramatic change across their organizations. Egon Zehnder’s Rajeev Vasudeva summed it up:

“Digital is not about just launching a new business activity or a new business model. It’s a complete transformation of all you do, and it impacts every part of the organization. It’s about how you approach the market, how you respond to customers, how you provide more customization, and how you integrate this with the back office and the supply chain. It’s really a different way of thinking.”

But participants acknowledged that their companies still have a lot to do if they are to embed this new way of thinking in their organizations – and translate their bold strategic visions into reality. Most of them said their company was currently “in between” a traditional and a digital company, and many said their organization model for digital was still under development (Exhibit 2).

Organization/Culture

How would you describe your current company culture with regard to digital?

Exhibit 2
Exhibit 2

Source: Egon Zehnder survey of China CEOs and executives, November 2016

Demand for digital talent outstrips supply, so companies should focus on potential

As a core part of their digital transformations, companies are engaged in an aggressive drive to hire digital talent from outside their organizations, and are also seeking to nurture digital talent from within their ranks. But it is proving a challenge to strike the right balance between external hires and internal development, as discussion at the event made clear. Most companies represented said that external recruiting from pure-play tech firms was their main source of digital talent, and only 32% said they looked to internal development for digital talent (Exhibit 3).

Talent

Where are your digital people from?

Exhibit 3
Exhibit 3

Source: Egon Zehnder survey of China CEOs and executives, November 2016

But several speakers emphasized that retaining and integrating talent from pure-play tech firms in incumbent companies is difficult, making overreliance on external recruiting a risk. Participating executives admitted that they struggle to integrate and retain external talent, and cited it as their single biggest issue related to digital talent.

Rajeev Vasudeva noted that there is huge demand for people with pure-play tech company experience, and that 90% of such digital talent are actively looking for their next job. That, he said, makes it imperative that companies make a special effort to engage their digital talent – including by building a culture of collaborative decision-making, and giving digital talent greater autonomy, more resources, and access and visibility to senior leaders both globally and in China.

Equally important, companies assessing digital talent should look beyond the candidates’ experience and put much more weight on understanding their potential – because they are looking for people to succeed in an area that is still largely unchartered. Specifically, companies should look for candidates who exhibit a high degree of curiosity and insight – two key markers of leadership potential.2 Greater emphasis on potential opens up new opportunities to seek out internal talent to lead digital efforts. With the right development, people who currently occupy operational roles in non-digital areas can grow into highly successful digital leaders.

2 See “Winning the War for Digital Talent in China”, Egon Zehnder, 2016

Digital transformation starts at the top: the critical role of the China CEO

One anecdote shared by a panelist at the event highlighted the critical role that CEO’s and senior leaders must play in digital transformation – and the distance that many still have to go in embracing a new way of thinking. The panelist recounted a key presentation by their company’s digital strategy team, which was distributed to top leaders in electronic format. But several of them asked for paper copies – contradicting the company’s drive to embrace digital channels.

Recognizing the need for leaders to reexamine their own mindsets, some companies are creating immersion experiences to expose senior executives to the practices of the digital pioneers. For example, one China-based multinational sent its top 30 executives to Silicon Valley to engage with their counterparts at companies such as Facebook, Google, and Uber – so bringing them closer to the forefront of global digital transformation. Likewise, one China CEO brought their global CEO and executive team to visit pure-play digital companies in China, including Tencent and Alibaba.

As digital champion, the China CEO needs to engage the entire organization – both global and regional stakeholders and the China team on the ground – around the shift to digital. One core task for the CEO and other senior leaders is to build and role-model a faster-moving, less hierarchical, and more innovative culture in their company. They can encourage internal entrepreneurship; flatten organization structures; make greater use of digital channels for internal communication; and champion initiatives that train employees to become more digitally-minded.

The China CEO and senior leaders also need to engage their stakeholders and prepare their teams for constant change and a large dose of ambiguity. For example, there is still much debate on the right organizational home for digital in an incumbent organization – a centralized function, a separate business, or part of an existing function such as Marketing (Exhibit 4). Leaders must be ready to act fast in making organizational changes, and ready to rethink those changes as the digital transformation evolves – while keeping teams informed and engaged.

Last but not least, the China CEO also has a key role in nurturing talent needed for successful digital transformation. He or she should see themselves as the guardian of digital talent in the organization – investing time in personally motivating such talent, and protecting them from traditional processes or mindsets when necessary.

Organization/Culture

Where does digital sit in your organization?

Exhibit 4
Exhibit 4

Source: Egon Zehnder survey of China CEOs and executives, November 2016

The digital transformation is unstoppable. It is creating exciting opportunities for incumbent companies to reinvent their business models, customer experience, and internal processes – and unlock huge value as a result. But these efforts will only succeed if companies can find and engage the digital talent who can take innovation to new levels. That calls for personal leadership by China CEO’s – to champion a culture of speed and collaboration, to nurture and protect digital talent, and to role-model a new way of thinking.

Xuemei Bennink-Bai

Xuemei Bennink-Bai Egon Zehnder, Shanghai

Jenny Chen

Jenny Chen Egon Zehnder, Shanghai

Rajeev Vasudeva

Rajeev Vasudeva Egon Zehnder, London, New Delhi

Connect with us

  • Find a consultant
    Select an office
    • Amsterdam
    • Athens
    • Atlanta
    • Bangalore
    • Barcelona
    • Beijing
    • Berlin
    • Bogotá
    • Boston
    • Bratislava
    • Brussels
    • Budapest
    • Buenos Aires
    • Calgary
    • Chicago
    • Copenhagen
    • Dallas
    • Dubai
    • Düsseldorf
    • Frankfurt
    • Geneva
    • Hamburg
    • Helsinki
    • Hong Kong
    • Houston
    • Istanbul
    • Jakarta
    • Jeddah
    • Johannesburg
    • Kuala Lumpur
    • Lisbon
    • London
    • Los Angeles
    • Luxembourg
    • Lyon
    • Madrid
    • Malmö
    • Melbourne
    • Mexico
    • Miami
    • Milan
    • Montreal
    • Moscow
    • Mumbai
    • Munich
    • New Delhi
    • New York
    • Oslo
    • Palo Alto
    • Paris
    • Prague
    • Rio de Janeiro
    • Rome
    • San Francisco
    • Santiago
    • São Paulo
    • Seoul
    • Shanghai
    • Singapore
    • Stockholm
    • Stuttgart
    • Sydney
    • Tel Aviv
    • Tokyo
    • Toronto
    • Vienna
    • Warsaw
    • Washington DC
    • Zurich
    Select an expertise
    • Executive Search
    • Board Consulting
    • CEO Practice
    • Executive Assessment and Development
    • Family Business Advisory
    • Diversity and Inclusion
    • Accelerated Integration
    • Financial Officers
    • Human Resources
    • Chief Information Officer (CIO)
    • Legal, Regulatory & Compliance Professionals
    • Chief Marketing Officers
    • Supply Chain
    • Sustainability
    • Communications and Public Affairs Officers
    • Consumer
    •     Consumer Products
    •     Media, Entertainment & Sports
    •     Retail, Apparel and Luxury Goods
    • Financial Services
    •     Asset Management
    •     Retail Financial Services
    •     Investment Banking, Corporate Banking & Markets
    •     Insurance
    •     Private Equity
    •     Wealth Management
    •     Risk Management
    •     Financial Tech
    •     Infrastructure
    •     Sovereign Wealth Funds
    • Health
    • Technology and Communications
    •     Telecommunications
    •     Digital
    •     Systems, Services and Software
    •     Semiconductors
    •     Intelligent Systems
    •     Mobile Devices and Apps
    •     Cybersecurity
    •     Big Data
    • Industrial
    •     Automotive and Transportation Equipment
    •     Building Components
    •     Chemical and Process Industries
    •     Energy and CleanTech
    •     Machinery & Industrial Technology
    •     Mining & Metals
    • Services
    •     Transport & Logistics
    •     Travel & Hospitality
    •     Business Services
    •     Real Estate Services
    •     Professional Services
    • Private Equity
    •     Sovereign Wealth Funds
    • Public and Social Sector
  • Your Career